Claire McCaskill

2024 Nomination
for the Claire McCaskill Award

In 1993, the first Missouri Drug Court was established in Jackson County (Kansas City). It was one of the first 12 drug courts in the United States. Claire McCaskill was the prosecutor in Jackson County and was instrumental in the development and implementation of the drug court. She was the first National Association of Drug Court Professionals Board President and has continued her support of drug courts in Congress where she has supported increased funding. It is fitting that this award be named the “Claire McCaskill Award” in her honor. The purpose of the award is to recognize people who have made a significant contribution to treatment courts in Missouri.
If there is an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership and distinguished services, please submit his or her name for nomination using the Process and Criteria.
Any individual, who has pioneered and/or uniquely helped the drug court movement in Missouri, is eligible for consideration of the Claire McCaskill Award. Recognition is given to practitioners in the adult, juvenile, mental health, veteran, family and DWI court arenas.

Nomination Procedure:

  • Submit nominations to Stacey Langendoerfer at P.O. Box 104602; Jefferson City, Mo.
    65110 or email to
  •  No current MATCP Board members are eligible for nominations.
  •  Only one nomination may be submitted by any one person.
  • Each nomination must have three (3) signatures of people in support of the nominee.

All candidates with nominations following the proper nomination procedures and that meet the deadline for submission will be presented to the MATCP Board selection committee.

The selected awardee may be notified following the Board’s decision. The formal induction will take place during the 25th Annual Conference to be held March 29-31, 2023

Nomination applications must not exceed 3 pages in length along with the attached nomination form (4 pages total).

Prior Awardees:

2005 Claire McCaskill
2006 Judge Ray Price
2007 Ann Wilson
2008 Commissioner Molly Merrigan
2009 Judge David Dolan
2010 Bill Bader

2011 No Awardee
2012 Commissioner James Sullivan
2013 No Awardee
2014 No Awardee
2015 Penny Clodfelter
2016 Judge Christine Carpenter

2017 Judge Timothy Perigo
2018 Commissioner Peggy Davis
2019 Angie Plunkett
2020 Jane Moore
2021 No Awardee
2022 Honorable Phil Ohlms
2023 Sherry Huxol

Submission Deadline: January 31, 2024

2024 Nomination
for the Claire McCaskill Award

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.